Activities

(click on link):

Disability and Chronic Pain

A link to the Arthritis Foundation is available.

Heart Disease and Stroke

  • Free Blood Pressure Screenings
  • Links to the American Heart Association and the American Stroke Organization are available.

Mental Health and Mental Disorders

  • Several links are available. 

Nutrition and Overweight

  • A link to the government's nutrition website is available.

Substance Abuse

Tobacco Use

  • No smoking during work hours at Avita Health System.
  • Telephone Numbers/Online Support Links

Crawford County Resource Directory

 

Crawford County Alcohol & Drug Treatment and Support Resource Guide 

Welcome to Avita Health System’s Wellness Link!

Avita Health System is dedicated to helping its community become healthy.

The “health priorities” below represent recommended areas of intervention, based on the information gathered through the Community Health Needs Assessment conducted in 2013 by Professional Research Consultants and the guidelines set forth in Healthy People 2020.

Click on each health priority on the right for self-help tools, activities and other resources for opportunities to help improve your health and wellness.

Disability and Chronic Pain:

  • Arthritis, Rheumatism (Adults 50+)
  • Activity Limitations

Heart Disease and Stroke:

  • Heart Disease Prevalence
  • Hypertension Prevalence
  • High Blood Cholesterol Prevalence
  • Top focus Group Concern
          - Heart Disease
          - Hypertension

Mental Health and Mental Disorders:

  • Top Focus Group Concern
          - Resource Constraints
          - Understaffed Counseling Services
          - Suicide Rate

Nutrition and Overweight:

  • Childhood Overweight
  • Top Focus Group Concern
          - Poor Eating Habits
          - Cost of Nutritional Food
          - Nutrition Education
          - Chronic Disease and Poor Health Outcomes

Substance Abuse:

  • Top Focus Group Concern
          - Prevalence of Drug Use (Especially Heroin)
          - Availability of Treatment Options
          - Need for Residential Facilities

Tobacco Use:

Current Smokers

  • Smoke in the Home (Including Homes With Children)
  • Top Focus Group Concern
          - Health Consequences
          - Low-Income Population and Youth
          - Smoking Cessation Resources

Crawford County agencies interested in improving the wellness of all county residents:

 

Agencies and Contact Information:

Cinda Kropka, Avita Health System – ckropka@avitahs.org

Jody Demo-Hodges – ADAMH - jdemo-hodgins@ohiopps.org

Dr. Novack - Galion City Health Department – snovack@avitahs.org

Sandy Crossland - Galion Health Department - sandy.crossland@odh.ohio.gov

Stephanie Zmuda - Galion Health Department - stephanie.zmuda@odh.ohio.gov

Steve Mohr – Wynford Schools - mohr.steve@wynford.k12.oh.us

Casie Grau – Ohio Mutual Insurance Group - cgrau@omig.com

Cindy Clouner – Crawford County Prevention - crawfordcountyti@yahoo.com

Peg Wells - Council on Aging - peg.wells@rrohio.com

Shirley Clark - City of Galion - sclar43@columbus.rr.com

Julie Bell - City of Galion - juliebell@ci.galion.oh.us

Kevin Kimmel – Bucyrus City Schools - kkimmel@bucyrusschools.org

Lisa Cook - cook.lisa@moesc.net

Matt Scheffler – Crawford County - matts@crawford-co.org

Cindy Wallis - Community Counseling - ccsi_cwallis@rrohio.com

Sis Love - Bucyrus Council President - councilpres@cityofbucyrusoh.us

Scott Kibler - Crawford County Health Department - cchc@crawford-co.org

Cynda Brause, RN, DON - Crawford County Health Department - nursing@crawford-co.org

Dave Williamson – Crawford County Economic Development - davidw@crawford-co.org

James Cox – Crawford 20/20 Vision - jcox1@ashland.edu

Todd Martin – Colonel Crawford Schools - martin.toddw@cck12.org

Janet Pry – The Community Foundation for Crawford County - janet@cfcrawford.org

Cindy Long - Registered Dietitian - cindylong310@gmail.com

Dr. Ryan Wagner - MD Sports Medicine – rwagner@avitahs.org 

Erica Schifer - Director Wellness Bucyrus YMCA - eschifer@bucyrusymca.org